The aim of The Friends of Abingdon is to help to retain what is good in Abingdon and the surrounding area and to work towards making it a pleasant place to live both now and in the future. We are keen to cooperate with other groups in the interests of all.
The Society was founded in 1944 and, since then, a major project has been the renovation and management of the once derelict Abbey Buildings, now much used and enjoyed as a theatre and venue for craft fairs, wedding receptions and other social events.
The Abbey Buildings are open to the public from 14.30 – 16.30 on Wednesdays, Thursdays and Sundays between 1 May and 30 September. Parts of the Buildings are also open at other times while the cinema is in operation. There is no charge, although donations towards the upkeep of the Buildings are always welcome.
If you would like to visit at other times or bring a group, please contact the Curator on 01235 525339 or 07389 063158.
Please explore the site to find out more about our other activities – or click below to see our Abingdon Abbey Buildings entry on TripAdvisor.